Division S

Heroes Lounge is a home for everyone with an interest in playing Heroes of the Storm competitively. We believe that everyone should have a chance to experience the thrill of competition at their own level. 

With HGC and OD leaving the Heroes of the Storm landscape the competition maxed out at our division 1, which does not provide enough competition for all players. We want to change this by introducing a new league to our organisation: Heroes Lounge Division S 


Heroes Lounge Division S will be a high-level competition where the top teams from Europe and NA can compete in their own region. Teams will be competing in a double round robin format, will compete for crowdfunded prizes, have a chance to drop out of the division via crucibles with new teams being able to fight their way in via qualifiers and most games being cast by no one less than Khaldor himself. Most importantly, this is all going to happen now.

Our timeline for this is planned as follows: 

  • Crowdfunding is open right now: Matcherino
  • Signups have opened on the 10th of January
  • Signups will close on the Friday before the weekend's respective qualifier at 9 am CET/3am EST/12am PST
  • Qualifiers will be played every weekend in February, starting on the 2nd. 
  • League play will start at the beginning of March 

Qualifier schedule


EU


Qualifier

Time

1

2 & 3 February

Saturday from 7PM CET / 1PM EST / 10AM PT
Sunday from 8PM CET / 2PM EST / 11AM PT

2

9 & 10 February

Saturday from 6PM CET / 12PM EST / 9AM PT
Sunday from 6PM CET / 12PM EST / 9AM PT 

3

16 & 17 February

Saturday from 6PM CET / 12PM EST / 9AM PT
Sunday from 6PM CET / 12PM EST / 9AM PT 

4

23 & 24 February

Saturday from 6PM CET / 12PM EST / 9AM PT
Sunday from 6PM CET / 12PM EST / 9AM PT 



NA


Qualifier

Time

1

2 & 3 February

Saturday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET
Sunday from 8PM EST / 5PM PT / 2AM CET

2

9 & 10 February

Saturday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET
Sunday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET

3

16 & 17 February

Saturday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET
Sunday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET

4

23 & 24 February

Saturday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET
Sunday from 7PM EST / 4PM PT / 1AM CET


The qualifier tournament will be a single elimination tournament. The winning team of each Qualifier tournament will directly be qualified for Division S. The remaining teams will get points based on their position in the playoff. The top 4 teams with the highest points at the end of the 4th qualifier will be added to the 4 winners of their region to create an EU Division S and a NA division S with 8 teams each. Resulting into 16 teams playing in the league stage Division S.


Position
Points
1st
Automatically Qualify
2nd
160
3rd - 4th
100
5th - 8th
65
9th - 16th
40
17th - 32nd
30


The league stage will be played in a double round robin format with 1 match a week, creating 14 weeks of league play with the top 6 teams qualifying for the playoff tournament.


Updates on the progress of Division S will be shared with you in regular updates. Even though we’re in contact with other organisations we won’t be able to make this happen without your support. We’re striving to support Heroes’ most skilled and passionate teams and give them a fair prize to strive and improve for. You can help fund this prize pool via Matcherino

If you’re interested in supporting the community and/or division S in a non-financial way please contact one managers or board members in our discord server. We’re looking for volunteers to make division S the best it can be.


FAQ

Heroes Lounge Division S will be a high-level competition where the top teams from Europe and NA can compete in their own region.

Division S is a plan we've had sitting on a shelf for almost two years now. However with Open Division being the step between professional play and amateur play we never felt it was something the community needed. With the recent changes in the Heroes landscape and Open Division and HGC being canceled the plan was taken off the shelf. We have a full team working around the clock to dust off the plan and make some minor changes to reflect the current state of the game.

We hope to attract some former pro players and inspire players to improve at the game. We understand that the pro scene as we had during HGC is dead, but we want to give the best players in the game a place to compete on their level and something to strive for.

So far several former pro players like HasuObs, Mene and Zaelia as well as some former open division players have expressed their interest in playing.

Every penny of the money raised trough Matcherino will go to the players playing in division S, equally split between Europe and North America. There will be a pay out for every player participating and extra for the winning players. The exact distribution between the prize pool and the participation pay-out depends on the funds available for this season but we will calculate it using the following percentages.

Position

Percentage of prize pool

1st

30.0%

2nd

20.0%

3rd

15.0%

4th

10.0%

5th

7.5%

6th

7.5%

7th

5.0%

8th

5.0%


Matcherino does guarantee this by only allow paying out to people directly involved with the event like players, casters and moderators. This rule is in place to prevent organisations pocketing money for themselves.

The league will have a double round robin format, every team faces each other twice in a Bo5 match. Meaning that the league will last 14 rounds, with a round per week. The top 6 teams will then enter the playoffs, a double elimination tournament. The bottom 2 teams will enter crucibles where they will fight to remain in Division S or be replaced by a new team.

Everyone who has a battle.net account and is registered on the Heroes Lounge website is allowed to participate. You will have to adhere to the Heroes of the Storm user guidelines and you can not change your battle.net account during the season. You can not participate in both Division S NA and Division S EU, you can, however, participate in the amateur league as well as Division S. If you're Division S staff you're not allowed to participate.

First of all you have to create an account on our website. (For this you’ll need a battle.net account and a discord account that has joined the Heroes Lounge discord server). You can then either join an existing team by being invited by the captain, or create your own team and invite your team members. Once your team has 5 players you can sign up for the qualifiers by going into your manage team page and tick on the qualifier weekends you want to join and press update participation. Important, all division S teams have to have exactly 5 players. You can add a coach/manager to the team and have them select this role on their profile. 

Teams can qualify for the first season via our qualifiers. Every weekend in February will have a single elimination qualifier tournament per region starting the 2nd of February. The winner of each qualifier weekend will qualify directly for Division S. The rest of the teams will collect points based on their result in the qualifier weekend (see below for point spread). After all 4 weekends are over, the top 4 scoring teams will be added to the 4 winning teams to form our first Division S season.

Position
Points
1st
Automatically Qualify
2nd
160
3rd - 4th
100
5th - 8th
65
9th - 16th
40
17th - 32nd
30


Midway through the first season we will announce new qualifiers for our second season. The qualifying teams will enter the crucibles where the top two teams will be added to division S.

Not long after the qualifiers. We will start around the middle of March, with the exact date to be announced soon.

A team must consist of 5 players. Players can not be part of multiple teams. Every team has to have a captain, the captain does not have to be a player for the team, so an owner, manager or coach can be added to the team as captain. In case your team runs into an issue the following sub-rules are in place:

A substitute can be put in place for a member of the team roster, this substitute and the team must fulfil the following requirements:

  • The request to use a substitute player must come from the captain
  • The team can only use substitutes up to three times per season
  • The substitute player must fulfil the eligibility requirements, and can not be a player from a different team participating in Division S. 
  • The substitute player may not play for more than one team per week. 
  • Heroes Lounge may allow additional substitutes in extreme circumstances
  • Substitutes must be reported to, and approved by, a Division S moderator. 

Qualifier

  • Teams participating in the qualifiers can use up to 1 substitute per qualifier weekend.

We realise that crowdfunding will not be sustainable in the long run, so the moment we decided to launch Division S we reached out to several organisations. We are currently talking to ensure the financial support of this league for several seasons.

Heroes Lounge has a team of volunteers with a heartfelt love for this game. This means that no one in the organisation is being paid for their efforts in Division S. For the NA side of Division S we have partnered up with NGS. Check out our full crew here. 

Via email on divisionS@heroeslounge.gg 

Via Discord: 

  • TinyOwl#8888 
  • Heartless#2138 
  • Eef#2220